July 24

 

It has been some time since I wrote a blog post. One reason I delayed is that my blood counts are stable and I have not needed any medication to boost them for several months. Last week for the first time in four years our doctor said we did not need to go to the clinic at Mt. Sinai, given my improving health. Also last week our close friends from Nashville, Rick and Susan Levy, who retired to Tucson, came to visit. The weather was hot and given the restrictions I still follow we did not do much sightseeing. We visited the Great Falls in Paterson and I was able to take some photos with my camera. (I added one to “My Photography” on this blog.) We also went to the Fair Lawn Jewish Center/Cong. B’nai Israel. They were very impressed with the renovated main sanctuary. Aside from that we basically ate and schmoozed. One morning they joined me on my walk in Saddle River Park. They were surprised to learn that I walk three or four times a week that I walk at a brisk pace and cover about two and a half miles in forty-five minutes.

This week we saw Dr. Keyzner at Mt. Sinai and my blood counts are still stable. However, she looked closely at the skin discoloration on my cheeks. She diagnosed it as GVHD – graft versus host disease. That complication of a bone marrow transplant appears in about 70% of the recipients. It can attack any organ in the body and vary from easily treatable to very serious. I had hoped to be spared this. We have scheduled an appointment with a dermatologist at Mt. Sinai for next week. At this point I am not very worried and I am hoping that there will be a fairly simple treatment. Of courses I looked up every possibility on the internet. Contrary to some of my other internet searches about my disease, I concluded that I need not be too anxious.

Someone asked me recently if faith played a role in my recovery. I answered by mentioning that someone said to me a year ago that I would be cured because I was a “man of faith.” I answered that I simply did not believe that. I have seen people of faith die before their time and others with no faith live to a ripe old age. I don’t believe faith gives anyone immunity from disease nor does it automatically cure someone who is ill. However, faith does have a role in my life, giving me confidence that there is good and meaning in the world, even though it may not seem that way at many times. Faith gives me a positive outlook and yes, I believe it may have a constructive effect on healing. I recall during my initial hospital stay thinking that I did not know if I was going to survive. I knew that my odds of being healed were only about 50%. I said to myself that I have lived a meaningful life of 69 years, more years than is granted to many. Certainly I wanted to live longer, but If I did not I knew that I had so many blessings during those years, a loving wife and children and a career that enabled me to preach, teach and counsel many others, having an effect on their lives. I thought of the long history of the Jewish people and my place in it. That brought me comfort. There are many books about faith in the life of cancer patients and I make a point of reading as many as I can. Each of us has to face a health crisis with our own resources. Typically one faces an illness with the same patterns that one uses in other difficult times. Yes, for me faith was and is part of that pattern and it helps to sustain me.

We are now able to have visitors more frequently. If you would like to stop by, please call first. The same rules still apply – don’t bring flowers or food, and don’t come if you or a member of your family is sick or is just recovering from an illness.

8 thoughts on “July 24

  1. I am so happy to read this latest blog. I will get in touch with Rhonda and see if we can align our schedules. I’d love to stop by to see you.
    Nicole

    Like

  2. Great picture of the Paterson Falls. I’m sure Alexander Hamilton would approve. I hope your visitors got a chance to stop into the museum and to understand how the raceways were developed from the water to enable the beginnings of the American industrial revolution. A Rogers Locomotive is parked outside of the museum as well.

    Keep up the walking!

    Like

  3. This is Michael Katzeff – I am a survivor of AML – diagnosed in 2003. I received Michael Edelman’s bone marrow in a transplant in 2003 and after relapsing another transplant procedure in 2004. It’s great that you are walking and seem to be doing much better. I suspect the GVHD on your cheeks is from sun exposure which can bring out skin GVHD. While you may be wearing a hat, it may not be adequately keeping the sun off your cheeks. I have a little GVHD of the skin and wear a hat with a long beak and with flaps on the sides to protect the cheeks. I always wear long sleeves. See an online company like Coolibar or perhaps a local sporting goods store for such a hat. For the face, they will probably suggest hydrocortisone. For skin GVHD on he rest of the body, they usually use prescription Triamcinolone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for responding. Sounds like you are doing well. I have been wearing a hat with a wide brim, putting sunscreen on my face and wearing long sleeves when I exercise. . Fortunately the path in the park is almost all shady. I will see what the dermatologist tells me next week. I may need to up my sun protection a notch or two.

      Like

  4. Glad to hear that you are healing! We continue to say a mishaberach for you, and even if that doesn’t have an impact on your actual healing process, it does make us feel that we are contributing to your well-being. Our thoughts are with you and the family. And so glad that the Levy’s were able to visit!

    Like

    1. Susan – Good to hear from you. I enjoy seeing your Facebook posts and photos of you and your children. They look great!
      I may not have been clear in my recent blog. I don’t believe that my hemoglobin count will rise or fall based on the prayers said for me, however I believe that there is a difference between healing and wholeness. My spiritual wholeness is affected by those prayers. Can knowing that so many people care about me and pray for me make a difference – yes a great difference in how I feel, my connection to others and to God.. Will that mean that more platelets will circulate in my system. I can’t say there is a one to one correspondence between prayers and healing. I have prayed and will continue to pray for those who are ill. Despite my prayers some of them will not return to health. That does not discourage me from prayer.
      Shabbat Shalom, Ron

      Like

Leave a comment